The Biggest Lesson I Learned in High School

The Goodbye Gossip Girl
“The Goodbye Gossip Girl” Pictured: Leighton Meester as Blair and Blake Lively as Serena Photo Credit: Giovanni Rufino / The CW © 2009 The CW Network, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

Since today is my last real day of classes of my senior year of high school, I decided to look back and think about the biggest lesson I learned in these four years. High school was definitely a roller coaster of ups and downs and emotions all over the place.

I think we can all agree that there is at least one point in our lives that we doubt who we are and are not pleased with ourselves. This was me during my sophomore year and most of my junior year. I did not really know myself. I always felt the need to live for others and please everyone before thinking of myself. If someone made fun of the way I dressed or acted or talked, I would change it to make them happy. I never felt that I could be myself because there was always that one person who would try to bring me down. And I let them bring me down for so long. But one day, I realized that my happiness comes first, and I needed to make a change.

What I learned in these four years is something that no teacher or textbook could have taught me. It really is just simply finding yourself and understanding the way you should live. This is something that takes a lot of time, and unfortunately some people never find it. I am grateful that I was able to step back and let others’ opinions about me go.

One day I decided that I could not live so sad and paranoid about what people thought of me forever. If I wanted to wear something in particular, even if people would make fun of me for it, I would wear it anyway. If people were going to laugh at me for being Mexican, then I would be more vocal about my heritage. If someone was going to make fun of my personality, then I would be “me” even more. I was not going to let people judge me anymore. If someone does not like me or feels the need to make fun of me or judge me, then so be it. I do not need to surround myself with negative people.

I think what we all need to realize is that we cannot always please everyone even though we want to. There will always be at least one person who will not like you, and that is okay. That is life! The biggest advice I can give is to find your voice, be you 100%, and cut the toxic people from your life. You don’t have to get along with everyone and you don’t have to still be friends with people you’ve known forever if they are a negative weight in your life.

Lastly, I want to thank anyone reading this and those following my blog. This blog was one of the biggest factors that contributed to my happiness:)

xoxo, B

If you enjoyed this, please follow my blog!!! If you like posts like this, you may want to check out Finding Happiness

Leave a Reply

